The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the article published in the magazine, Clearview is the best place for retired people due to numerous reasons such as amazing beauty of nature and good weather. Also, the housing rates and taxes have declined in Clearview as compared to other neighboring towns. Additionally, Clearview will have improved facilities of streets, schools, and other services like health benefits in nearby future because physician’s count is much larger than the average of the country. At a first glance, the article does look promising as far as retirement policies are concerned. However, at the closer look, it certainly has at least three of unwarranted assumptions which need to be justified to make above argument reasonable.

First, author of the article assumes that the people who are almost at the age of retirement would like to choose the Clearview because of the calm and fascinating nature and weather. Of course, there are more important aspects, which must be considered for the city to choose after retirement by elderly. Peaceful weather can be one of the reasons but certainly not the primary one. And even if it is considered as an important aspect, author should provide the enough data records and information to prove that Clearview city has better nature and stable weather conditions than other cities otherwise the credibility of the claim will not hold a water.

Secondly, author blindly assumes that housing costs and taxes will not fluctuate at all. In other words, housing prices and taxes have not raised in the past year in Clearview, it certainly doesn’t mean that they will remain constant in upcoming years. Suppose prices take a rise dramatically, in next couple of years, it will have detrimental effects on the budgets of old retired people. Hence, if this negative condition is considered, author needs to provide the data analysis and projection of housing costs and corresponding taxes for nearby future.

Finally, author also claims that retired people will have a great heath care facilities in Clearview city because physicians’ count is greater than the average of the country. Human health is complex and dependent of many other factors so only the availability of physicians does not guarantee the best health care benefits. In other words, despite having physicians’ count is higher in the city, people surely need other doctors as well such as cardiologists, surgeons, superspecialists. They can’t rely on only Physicians in long run. Hence, author needs to provide exact evidence of data to clarify the picture of medical health care facilities in the town.

To conclude, though Clearview is one of the best choices for retiring people, for above three unwarranted assumptions, evidence must be provided otherwise the author’s claim will be significantly weakened.