Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In past few decades, the computer technologies have taken a rise. Thus, the introduction of internet in the world has changed everyone’s perspective to look at the things. Technology has provided us a flexible way to read the books instead of following a traditional way of issuing books at libraries. But I am completely disagreed that libraries are redundant because they can be replaced by plethora of technical advancements nowadays. Below essay will shed some light about my opinion.

First, by observing some advantages of technologies, reading or issuing books at the libraries is a time consuming and an obsolete way. On the contrast, by using the internet, people can find any books within a fraction of seconds. Today’s youngsters consider the internet as an inevitable source of information. Thus, people can find any type of data from any corner of the world which is, just a click away.

Secondly, a public library infrastructure can be maintained by some local authorities in the towns, so they have fixed opened hours. Technologies can replace this time constraint because computer and internet can be available twenty-four by seven all over the world.

Despite having disadvantages, public libraries can have some vital advantages too. They can provide you peaceful environments to study which computer technology is unable to guarantee. In addition, the older generations are skeptical to handle techno gadgets at ease. They often face difficulties to read on the screens. Conversely, reading pages one-by-one of the books can be a satisfactory experience for them. Moreover, libraries can help to develop the reading habits in young minds instead of spending more time on the computer screens or on cellphones.

To conclude, libraries are essential parts of a society, and they help to collect the information and save it for future generations even in this competitive world. For this reason, libraries cannot be replaced with any other establishments.