The following memo appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This shows that eating a substantial amount of fish can clearly prevent colds. Furthermore, since colds are the reason most frequently given for absences from school and work, attendance levels will improve. Therefore, we recommend the daily use of a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo recommends that people in West Meria use a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil to prevent colds and consequently reduce absenteeism in schools and workplaces. The author recommends this based on the findings from a study in East Meria where fish consumption is very high and people visit doctors only once or twice a year for treatment of cold. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, one would need answers to the following questoins.

Firstly, do all the people who contact cold visit the doctor for treatment in East Meria? The author prematurely assumes that everyone who had suffered from cold visited the doctor for treatment. However, this may not be true. There is a possibility that not all the people who suffered from cold visited the doctor for treatment - perhaps, the cold being a minor allergy, many patients did not feel the need to visit a doctor to alleviate their condition. Furthermore, there is a possibility that many people in East Meria do not have the requisite financial means to visit a doctor frequently and thus, people visited the doctor only rarely for treatment of cold. If the above scenarios turn out to be true, then the author's recommendation is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does consuming fish actually reduce the occurence of cold in people? The author fallaciously confuses causation for correlation. The author does not specify any scientific study the proves his claim. And without any scientific study backing his claim, it would be imprudent for one to follow the author's recommendatoin. There is a possibility that the people of East Meria are inherently less susceptable to cold. If a scientific study proves that consuming fish does not play any role in reducing the occurence of cold, the author's argument does not hold water.

Finally, what is the basis for concluding that absenteeism in schools and workplaces is primariy due to cold? The author does not specify any study that serves as a basis for his assertion. Without any imperical study proving what the author has claimed, one cannot follow the author's recommendation. If a study has been conducted and it shows that there are myriad reasons for absenteeism in the schools and the workplaces and not just cold, then the author's basis for his recommendation is significantly weakened.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the author does not provide any information addressing the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author can provide answers to the above question in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.