People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a poverb that goes like, "I am not what I think I am. I am not what you think I am. I am what I think you think I am." This proverb though confounding at first glance, upon close examiation, can help one understand about majority of the way people behave in and around us in the most succint manner. The prompt suggests that people's behaviour is primarily influenced not by their own will but by their surroundings. I agree with the prompt and feel that the melie in which people are has a profound affect on their behaviour for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is true that one's behavior is influenced by their surroundings. This may not be obviously clear and people can go to the extent of rebutting such claim blatantly. Yes, one would not readily agree to such claim if only they had paid close attention to why they behave in a particular manner. Our behavior is influnced by our surroundings subconsciously, that is, one might not be aware of such influence as it happens involuntarily or at levels not easily perceptable to our conscous mind. There is a whole field of study dedicated to researching on such influence. For example, there was a study which found out that when one is aware of someone watching them typing on a computer, they type at a faster rate. At the same time, they likely to make more mistakes while typing. This finding corroborates the claim that one's behavor is influenced by their surroundings even without their knowledge.

Secondly, the pattern described in the prompt is so ubiquitous that one can observe all around in our dialy lives but we need to pay close attention in order to discern it. For example, let us consider how people behave in officies or at work. If a person is applauded for doing something, the person is more like to do it again and again as others approve of it and at the same time improve his self esteem. On the contrary, if the person is chided or his actions are stigmatized as disgrace, the person wastes no time in abandoning such action. This pattern may not happen consciously and thus, one may not find truth in assertion made in the prompt. But upon deliberation, one would be baffled after an epiphany which reveals the truth in the claim.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot ignore a few exceptions. There will be a few people who does not fit in, namely misfits. They don't care about the status-quo around them and their behavior or actions are determined by their own will. It is sure that they will face some backlash. Nonetheless, they go on to do what they intended to do.

To recapitulate, it is true that our actions are influenced by our surroundings as there are findings from a number of research studies that corroborate such claim and such influences happpen subconsciously and hence not easily discernable. However, there will be a few people who are conscious of such and defy such influence to behave in their own way.