Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Some people would restrict themselves to only maintaining a strong relationship with their old friends while others like to meet new folks and develop a good rapport with them. Though everybody has their preferences, I personally think that making new friends is more important than trying hard to keep old friends. I feel this way for the reasons that will be illustrated in the following passage.

Nowadays, people have to keep moving from one place to another for reasons like pursuing education, changing jobs or other obligations. Consequently, friends who were once spending time together get separated. And human beings are social animals. They like to interact with each other. As people hop from one place to another, it becomes a necessity to befriend someone new to spend time with, to share happiness and sorrow and to help each other.

Making friends with new people will open a new world of opportunities. As one meets new people, s/he might not realise what is in store for them. Befriending someone can help boost much deserved career advancement. When a new person is befriended, not only will you be able to harness the power s/he possesses but also the powers of his/her friends possess and so on. So, one can only imagine how beneficial it would be to make new friends.

Let’s just say you only stick to your old friends. Is there a guarantee that they will always stay beside you to help you when you are in trouble? In this ever changing and unpredictable world, the answer is definitely no. This is where one can understand the importance of making new friends. They can come to your rescue at immediate notice as they are the ones that would be in your vicinity and sometimes even save you or your family member from a life and death situation.

Therefore, I think that making new friends is more important as they are the ones with whom we can socialize when one moves to a new place, they can open doors to boundless opportunities and they can be beside you to help you when in need.