It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends Old friends VS New friends

Friends are like the keystones that help and motivates us to remain in shape regardless of the situations whether bad or good. Therefore, in my opinion, I disagree with the idea that it is more important to keep old friends instead of making new friends which I will illustrate in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, friends are needed in each stage of life; and old friends cannot be always beside us when we need. For instance, college students needs to make new friends in their university so that they can get help in various activities like getting notes, doing assignments, etc. The older friends cannot help the student in these activities even when they want to. Likewise, we need to make new friends while doing our jobs so that we can get direct help and co-operation. Thus, it is crucial to make new friends so that we would be in advantage.

Similarly, making new friends help to get information about the variety of cultures. This helps to quickly adapt to such cultures and tradition when we want. For instance, I have a friend named Sabin who is from Newar culture; I knew their many traditions and eating habits from him. Later, when I went to Bhaktapur for my work, it helped me a lot to adapt to that Newar culture, and it made me easier to work on that environment. So, making new friends is always beneficial.

Some might argue that keeping old friends helps to get along very easily as we have good connection with them, and also it will be easy to share our thoughts with them than with new friends. However, it is not the case; we can easily have good relation with the new friends after couple of coffee talks and can build good relationships. And also, there is always a option to get out if we don't like their behaviour.

To recapitulate, making new friends has a lot of advantages, and therefore, it is more important to make new friends.