In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is an old saying that goes like, "Imagniation is more important than knowledge". However, if someone belives that the knowledge is more important, then the person is fallaciously drawing boundaries to what the he/she is capable of doing.

The prompt says that in most professions and academics fields, imagination is more important. I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, our history has proved time and again that it is due to unfettered imagination that we as a human race are able to advance in large strides rather than taking puny footsteps towards development. We do not have to forage any farther than our school textbooks to find myriad of such examples. Archimedis principle is used ubiquitously in our present day world right from cargo ships traversing billions of worth of commodities to the life saving medical apparatuses. If it had not been for our ability to imagine we would not have witnessed such a facile natural principle playing such a huge role on today's world. Archimedis was asked to ascertain if a jewelry made by a goldsmith was adultrated by a King. Archimedis was an erudite folk on whom the King depended for any task that had to do with scientific knowledge. Much to the King's embarrassment, at first, Archimedis was not able to solve the conundrum with the scientific knowledge he had. He kept pondering about how to solve the issue and when he happened to submerge himself in bath tub, he had an epiphany about of the bouyancy force that would act of on the submerged force. This realization could not have happened had he not imagined how an upward force acts on the submerged bodies. Thus, this one such example out of myriad of examples from the history that prove imagination is more important than knowledge.

Secondly, the claim that imagination is more important than knowledge is holds true even in the contemporary times. For instance, lets look at the ambitious space exploration programs that are unraveling. On one hand, we see Elon Musk's futuristic plans to make human beings a multiplanetary species while on the other hand, we witness Bezo's avantgrade space machines that travel through space with humans living a conventional life in them. Whether such feats are really conceivable or not is least important as it is these untrammled imaginations that push human race forward. If we had feared to imagine such outlandish concepts, it is gauranteed that the human race will some day face same consequence as garguantan dinosaurs, that is, extinction. In fact, one does not need to wait until extinction to understand the importance of imagination over knowledge. Elon Musk is an epitome that asserts this claim. He had come up with ideas like long range electric vehicles to solve problems faced by using fossil fuels, he suggested hyperloops to ease long distance travels, he advocated the use of tunnels to reduce traffic congestion and last but not the least, he is demostrating how to light up a country using the power of the sun - the solar city concept. It is noteworthy to point out that he not a expert in any of the diverse concepts presented above. But what is enabling him to come up with expedient ideas is his imagination.

However, all dream and no work takes us no where. Hence, though imagination is the pivotal driving force for the advancement of the human civilization, it the knowledge that can make these dreams come true. One can acquire knowledge based on the task at hand and thus, it is the imagination that dictates the knowledge and not the other way round.

To recapitulate, I actively promulgate the claim that imagination is more important than knowledge as it was due to imagination that scientists were able to solve profound problems and it is also a driving force of human advancement in the present times.