The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author recommends Clearview for those who want to retire. To support the recommendation the author states that Clearview has spectacular natural beauty, consistent climate, lower housing costs and taxes, improving infrastructure and presence of greater number of physicians. Though, at first glance, the argument looks convincing, upon cogitating, one realizes that there are quite a few missing evidences in the argumnet that insubstantiate the argument.

First, the author mentions that Clearview has a spectaculare natural beauty. But what exactly does the author mean by natural beauty? Natural beauty can mean anything from a seaview to pristine green mountains. Not all kinds of natural beauty appeal to those who want to retire. In order for the author's argument to be more convincing, he/she should have mentioned the kind of natural beauty the Clearview encompasses. Another point to consider is do all the retiring folks prefer natural beauty to spend their pass time? The answer to this question could validate the author's recommendation of Clearview.

Second, the author is very vague when he/she states that Clearview has a consistent climate. The author should put forward specific evidence that gives a clear idea of the type of climate in Clearview. When the author states that Clearview has a consistent climate, there is every possilbity that the climate can be consistently hot, cold, rainy or just the right conditions throughout the year. A prospect reading the argument could fallaciously assume that Clearveiw has a climate whichever he/she likes throughout the year and purchase a house in Clearview only to regret after he/she reaches Clearview. Thus, the evidence supporting the exact type of climate would bolster the recommendation by the author.

Finally, the author states that the house prices in Clearveiw had significantly come down and the taxes are lower than those in neighboring towns. The author should be more specific about prices of the houses in the last year and by what amount did they come down. For example, the average price of the house could be 2 crores last year and it would have come down to 1 crore. The decrease, though significant, but is still pretty prohibitive for retiring people to purchase the house. The answer to these questions would help evaluate the author's claim that the prices of the houses in Clearview have down significantly.

Therefore, as stated, there are quite a few evidences that the author needs to pur forward for his recommendation to be worthy.