Some people believe that in order to thrive, a society must put its own overall success before the well-being of its individual citizens. Others believe that the well-being of a society can only be measured by the general welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

There is a saying in my locality that that translates to - "A country is neither about the highest mountains nor the most beautiful rivers but the people who live in it". Some might argue that the success of a society depends on the overall success of the society as a whole and does not depend on the success of individuals or their well being. I personally feel that it is the success of the individulas that define the success of a society for the following reasons.

Firstly, a society is of comprised of all kinds of individuals and each individual is unique in their own way. What might interest one person may not interest another person. Everyone has their own way of defining the meaning of life. Hence, it is next to impossible for a society to come together and have a common goal to acheive. For instance, let us take an example of Norht Korea. Its government has ordered every one of its citizens to strieve towards a common goal, that is, make its country the greatest in the world. They do so by adhereing to whatever their government orders them to do. However, it could very well be the case that each one of them have their own interests and their own way of defining what success means. Though they yeild to their government orders, there will be discontent among the people due to the way they are leading their lives - following the orders of their government rather following the orders of their heart. Hence, it is of utmost important for the people of a country to lead a happy and satisfying life for the happiness of a country lies in its people.

Secondly, we often hear from celebrities and politicians that for a change to take place in a country, it should start from the individuals. If everyone in the country changes for the betterment of the country, only then one can claim that the change has taken place. Likewise, a society is said to be successful only when the individuals in the society are successful in their own way. It is asinine to judge the success of the society only by looking at how successful the politicians or the celebrities are. It is alluring to judge the success of the society only by considering them but they comprise of a very small fraction of the society and their well being need to necessarily represent the well being of the remaining folks of the society. It is highly plausible that the celebrities and the politicians who represent a society are highly successful while the majority of the society is discontent or not salubrious. In such a scenario, it is not wrong to say the society is midst of privations. Therefore, it should be a priority for the goverments to make sure the well being of its citizens for the country to proper.

Nonetheless, some might argue that for a society to prosper, its own overall success is more important than the well being of the individuals. However, if we pore over the scenarios taking place around the world, one can see that the countries which consider the success of its citizens as its success are faring far better than those countries which considers its own overall success more important than the well being of its citizens.