Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed materials such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Research is something which requires one to conquer the unknown horizons. It will usually require someone to do a pretty exhaustive work before finding any substantial solution. Given the nature of the research work, I personally feel that using the internet would be more beneficial than using printed materials to do research. I feel this way for the reasons that I will explicate in this essay.

Research entails going through a large amount of literature. As a result, it would require someone to first find the material they are looking for. If one uses printed material to aid the research, more than half of the time would go in searching for the materials. One has to go to different libraries which could be located at opposite ends of a city or a country. If one would want to purchase a book, they might have to visit different book stores to find the book. Instead, if one uses the internet to advance his/her research, the effort in finding different books can be reduced by manifold and thus can spend more time in finding the solutions rather than spending time on peripheral activities as a result of foraging for books.

Secondly, the sheer weight of the printed material like books can make it very difficult to carry them along when a person moves from one place to another. The books referred by researchers can oftentimes be very bulky. Consequently, when one moves from one place to another, which often is the case with the researchers, where they have to travel from home to classroom and from classroom to the laboratory, carrying books can exact a toll on the researcher both physically and psychologically. Using the internet can completely eliminate this burden. Since, the internet can be accessed from anywhere with the help of a portable computer and an internet connection which is ubiquitous in today’s world, it can easily aid a researcher in referring to a mirage of resources. No matter what size of material one has to refer to, the researcher has to only carry a constant weight whenever he/she has to go to a different place.

All in all, using the internet can improve the productivity of the researcher in leaps and bounds, and this is because one can find various resources just by staying at one place and one wouldn’t require to carry any superfluous weight when moving around.