The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the letter to the scientific journal concludes that the order of birth will have an effect on an individual's levels of stimulation. He comes to this conclusion based on the findings from a study of eighteen rhesus monkeys which showed that first born monkeys had twice the amount of cortisol than their younger siblings as well as the tendency of first born humans to produce relatively high levels of cortisol. The argument, though convincing at first glance, upon further contemplation, there seems to be alternate explanations that would account for a similar behavior.

Firstly, the author asserts that the first born monkeys produce higher levels of cortisol in the events of stimulation such as encountering an unfamiliar monkey based on the study of eighteen rhesus monkeys. However, the sample size chosen for the study may not be sufficient to come to a conclusion decisively. There is a possibility that the first born monkeys in this sample produced higher levels of cortisol while in the larger population of rhesus monkeys, there is no such correlation. If such is the scenario where the cortisol levels are high only in this particular sample of monkeys, then the author's conclusion is untenable.

Secondly, the author claims that the first born rhesus monkeys produced twice as much cortisol as their younger siblings in the event of stimulation. However, this claim may be spurious in as much as the author does not provide any details about how the study was carried out. Perhaps, the methods used for measuring the cortisol levels in the first borns and their younger siblings were different and hence, the cortisol levels are different. Furthermore, it is possible that the first borns and their younger siblings were subjected to different stimulations. If any of the scenarios has merit, then the author's argument is siginificantly weakened.

Finally, the first born rhesus monkeys produced higher levels of cortisol than their younger siblings may be because they felt more responsible to protect their younger siblings and hence, such mind set made their bodies to produce higher cortisol. There is a possibility the younger siblings would produce the same amount of cortisol if the first borns were not present in such stimulating situations. If this is the case, then the author's conclusion does not hold water.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as there are alternate explanations that would account for the findings in the study. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the author furnishes further details that would rule out the above alternate explanations.