Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author comes to a conclusion that the risk of being severly injured in an accident while roller-skating can be reduced to a great extent if the roller skaters wear protective clothing and use reflective equipment based on the statistics regarding the people who go to emergency after an accident while roller-skating. Though the argument seems convincing at first glance, upon further contemplation, the argument depends on unwarrented assumptions, if stand invalid, can significatly weaken the argument.

Fistly, the author fallaciously assumes that the roller skaters are not doing any of the dangerous feats, if gone wrong, can severly injure the skater even with the protective gear. People generally do roller skating for the thrill that they derive while doing acrobatics or dangerous manouvers. Even the experts in roller skating tend to fail now and then while doing such precarious feats. And when things do go as planned, the skater can get severly injured even if the he/she wears adequate protective gear. If most of the people are getting injured due to performing this dangerous feats, then the author's conclusion that the severity of accidents reduces if the protective gear does not hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the streets and the parking lots are quite safe for rollerskating. However, this assumption may not hold true given the amount of traffic on streets and parking lots nowadays. Day by day, we see traffic increasing rapidly on the streets. There is a possibility that the roller skaters can get severly injured if hit by a passing car even if they were protective gear and reflective material. There may not be any mistake of the roller skater but given the fact that everybody is in a rush to reach their destination and given the chaotic road layouts, it is plausible that the roller skaters can get severly injured and if this turns out to be the cause of severe injuries, then the author's recommendation is significantly weakened.

Finally, the author spuriously assumes that those who are met with injures are actually very proficient in roller skating. However, it is possible that many of the victims are those who are indeed getting started with roller skating. When people are learning new sports it is very common for them to sustain severe injures while they are in their initial stages of learning it, especially in those sports which involve travelling at great speeds with less control. If this scenario has merit, then the author's claim that the severity of the injures can be reduced only by wearing protective gear and reflective material will not stand true.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it relies on a series of unwarrented assumptions. One can better evaluate the argument if the author addresses the above unstated assumptions while recommeding the use of protective gear and reflective material.