The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memo, the author suggests that the company use Delany Personnel servies rather than Walsh's serivces for the laid-off employess because 8 years ago, only half of the laid-off employees found jobs within in a year. Moreover, Delany is superior as it has bigger staff and larger number of offices and last year, Delany's clients got the jobs in six months on average where as Walsh's clients took nine months. However, the author seems to have fallaciously assumed a few things that can play a critical role in evaluating the recommendation.

Firstly, the author mentions the inefficay of the Walsh services based on what had happened 8 years ago. The author inaptly assumes that the scenario is same even in the contemporary times. However, there is a possibility that the services provided by Walsh have improved based on their performance in the past years. Or perhaps, the has been a overhaul of the management of the firm to alleviate the services by manifold. If any of the above scenarios turn out to be true, then the author recommendation would prove to be futile for the laid-off employees. Secondly, the author factitiously assumes that larger the number of employees, better the serivces provided by the firm. However, in the current times of technological boom, it is possible to carry out work with least amount of plodding work. It is plausible that Walsh is using using state of the art technology to provide their services and hence has fewer employees than Delany Personnel. If this turns out to be true, then the author's claim that Delany is better than Walsh for it has more manpower does not hold water.

Moreover, the author also spuriously assumes that Delany has an advantage over Walsh as they outweigh Walsh in terms of branches they operate. However, this is a facial assumption; inasmuch as the author does not provide any information on the business model of the the firms. Delany might not be keeping up with the technological advances happening around and hence need a lot of branches to serve different parts of the country which would entail it to operate at higher costs. This leads to charging the clients more than Walsh. On the contrary, Walsh must be able to provide its services at a cheaper cost than Delany for it has equipped the employees with the latest technology that enables the firm operate efficiently throughout the country with less number of braches and lesser investment which enables it to provide services at a lower cost. Additionally, the author fatuous gauges the efficacy of the firms based on the average months its clients take to find a new job. The author assumes that both the firms handle the same kind of job profiles. However, there is a possibility that Delany handles job profiles different for those of Walsh's and hence Delany appears to have an upper hand. But, it is plausible that Walsh is good at providing serivces to the job profiles that the company XYX laid-off employees' have. If either of the above assumptions of the author does not hold true, then the author's recommendation would have an effect contrary to what is anticipated by the author of the memo.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it relies on a series of unwarrented assumptions. If the author provides clarification on his/her unstated assumptions mentioned in the passage, one would be in better position to evaluate the effects of the recommendation.