A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

All around the world, countries follow different set of rules regarding the curriculum to be followed until the students reach college level. While some countries mandate a common curriculum, others give the leniency for the students to choose between a state curriculum and a national currriculum. The prompt suggests that a nation should make it mandatory for the students to study the same national curriculum. I agree with the prompt and feel that having a common national curriculum has advantages for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is during the shcool education that students are first exposed to the practice of studying and learning. They start with the basics of everything - right from Mathematics, Science to History and Geography. As students learn different things in these subjects, their minds begin to extrapolate how different things work in the world. It is the knowledge gained in school education upon which they can rely to be a successful students in the subsequent education. If students of different regions study different curriculums, it is possible that the thought process of the students that is developed during the school education(which can become deeply ingrained in them) of one region is different from the students of another region. This disparaty can have a detrimental effect on student's collaboration during college education. As a result, students in the college will not enjoy the college experience as there will be a sense of cacophony. However, if all the students study a common national curriculum in schools, students from different regions can concur seamlessly and make the best of their college life which will inherently affect their careers in the long run.

Secondly, if the states are allowed to come up with their own curriculums, there will be biasness in the facts that the students study. For example, let us take the case of History subject. There were different phases in the fight for independence by India. To make the students feel proud about their state, a state can claim that the people for their state were primarily responsible for the independence, while other states can also do the same. As we can see, there is a biasness in the facts that are presented to the students of different states. Hence, to avoid such biasness creeping into pivotal school curriculums, I would recommend that nations mandate the use of a common national curriculum.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot overlook and exception. Facts and figures related to different regions can get diluted as a national curriculum should be as comprehensive as possible at the same be managable by the school students. To compensate for such loses, the national board should provide optoinal additional material based on regions.

To recapitulate, nations should enlist all the students to study a common national curriculum as it facilitates better collaboration in college and prevent any biasness in what students study. Additionally, the national board should provide study material for each state to compensate for the dilution in national curriculum.