"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The vice president urges that the company should resume production of alpaca overcoat that was discountinued five years ago due to lack of high quality wool fabric. To corraborate his/her suggestion the vice presidents says that a new fabric supplier is available, and given the demand for alpaca overcoat five years ago along with the increased clothing price, the vice president claims that the company is sure to make lucrative bussiness. Though believable at first glance, upon comtemplation, one can realize that a few question have to be answered in order to evaluate the soundness of the recommendation.

First, the vice president suggests that the company can now resume production of alpaca overcoats as new fabric supplier is available. The specific question that should be answered in this realm of discussion is - Does the new supplier provide as high quality wool fabric as the one that was available before discontinuing its production? The answer to this question would determine the quality of the alpaca overcoat. If yes, then one can be assured of the quality of the alpaca overcoat and if the answere is no, then there is every reason to believe that the vice president's claim would not be true.

Second, the author fallaciously assumes that the alpaca overcoat has the same demand as it had five years ago. Actually, this is a facial assumption: inasmuch as the author does not give any information of the demand currently. Fortuously, if the alpaca overcoat has the same demand it had in the past, then there is no doubt the company would make handsome profits by resuming its production. On the contrary, if it proves to be in no demand, then the vice president's suggestion would prove to be futile for the company.

Finally, the author argues that the overall clothing price has increased and this trend would help the company rack-in some money. However, one cannot be foolish to think if the increased prices can offset the production cost as due to inflation, it is very likely that the production cost should have also increased. The author's suggesion can only be lucrative if the increase in prices is more than the increase in production.

As we can see, the answers to the above questions would either corroborate or undercut the author's recommendation and as it stands, however, the argument is unpersuasive.