Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational intitutions play a pivotal role in shaping the career of students. Incohort students, when joining in an educational institution, not only do the expecet quality education but also guidence about which career path to choose as they graduate. The prompt recommends that educational institutions should goad students to choose fields that provide propitious careers. I disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, one decade's lucrative jobs may not be next decades' hot jobs. In otherwords, it would be fatuous to consider that the demand for a particular job would be perennial in this rapidly evolving world. To understand what I meant, let us take a look at a scenario that happened in 1960s. During 1960, nuclear engineering was considered to be most promising and lucrative field for job prospects because not only many countries were involved in developing nuclear weapons but they had also announced a number of nuclear power plants that would aid power production at very low cost with meager resources. Consequently, many graduating students chose nuclear engineering as their major in anticipation of leading luxurios life ever after. However, with various issues raising later in the decade like - NIMBY(not in my backyard) and unfathomable lose that occured at Fukushima power plant(Japan) for no mistake of humans made countries' spearheads to re-evaluate their nuclear programs. The countries were even quicker to halt their nuclear programs as they had apprehensions about what could possible go wrong. Soon, the nuclear engineers were deprieved of hefty packages leaving them in despair and the just graduated engineers soon to become hopeless of their professional careers. Hence, it would only be asinine to encourage the students to choose fields that would fetch them lucrative jobs.

Moreover, one should consider how happy would a person be just by earning surplus money every month. The question to ponder upon at this point is - Is money the panacea? The answer is definitely no. For example, let us consider a person who is interested in pursuing a career in horse riding but instead, she chose a career as software engineer as the educational instition enncouraged its students to hoan their skills so that they would secure a high paying job as software engineer. Though at first she might be amazed to see cool offices, free food and weekend parties, the zeal won't last long. She would soon start feeling nostalgia about what would have happend if she had chosen a career of her interest. There is no wonder that she would come to office everyday staring at her computer screen that has a horse riding wallpaper and repent for the decision she has taken. Moreover, the passion for a job determines how efficiently one works. She might submit the work in a haphazard way only to be vituperated by her boss for the inadvertent mistakes in the project that will only aggravates her agony. And it is no wonder why many people in the software industry face multitude of mental health issues at workplaces. Thus, it is important that the educational institutions encourage students to pursue careers for which they a zealous both for the benefit of the individual and the society as whole.

One can argue that now a days, as there seem to be no dearth in the kind of lucrative jobs to choose from, the educational institutions should exhort the students to only vouch for lucrative jobs. But, is it not a good reason to go after your passion? The liklehood of earning high pay check if one follows their passion is was never as high as it is presently. Hence, it is good if the educational institutions pique students to pursue careers of their interests rather than going after careers that seem lucrative at the moment only to have epiphany later that all that glitters is not gold.