The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that there has been a significant decrease in the amphibians population in Xanadu National Park from 1975 to 2002 and that the decrease in the population is due to introduction of trout - a specie that feeds on ampibian eggs. Though the author has specifed that the trouts are responsible for the decrease in the amphibian population, the author fails to provide detaile evidences to support the claim. Further, the author claims that the amphibians population has reduced throughout the world due to pollution of global waters. Though a plausible reason at first as it may seem, upon deliberation one will realize that one would require to put forth the evidences that would bolster the author's claim.

The author should first specify the details of how the ampibians were counted to arrive at the conclusion that the amphibians population has decreased in Xanadu National Park. Specifying the detailed approach that has been followed to estimate the amphibians population would help reader evaluate the strength of the author's claim. Details regarding the method that was used in 1975 and 2002 would help evaluate the validity of the methods and subsequently evaluate the author's conclusions. If one happens to find that a any of the method is faulty, then it would weaken the argument and the author is obligated to redress the conclusion.

Secondly, the author states that the decrease in the amphibians population in the Xanadu National Park is due to introduction of trout in the Park. This resolute conclusion seems to be vague as the author doesn't provide more details regarding the trout theory. The details like when was it first introduced in the Park, why was it inroduced, how has the population of the trout varied across the period, etc would help one evaluate the argument in important ways. If the answers to these questions contradicts the unstatd assumptions that the author had posited, then the argument is definitly weakened.

Finally, the author seem to blatantly express that the global pollution of water and air is the reason for decrease in amphibian population worldwide without providing any specific evidence to bolster the claims. The argument would have been tenable had the author mentioned what kind of pollutants are responsible for this, does the pollutants have a direct impact or a secondary impact on the amphibians, to what extent of area does the world "worldwide" implies, etc. Without answers to these questions, one would be disaffected by the claims that the author makes in the argument. And depending on the evidences found in pursuit of these questions, the reader will be capable of evaluating the argument.

All in all, there seems to be many apprehensions that one would have to confront while reading the argument as the author doesn't mention the required evidences as discussed to help evaluate the argument coherently.