The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park with abundant numbers of each species However in 2002 only four species of amphibians

According to the environmental magazine, the studies shows that a siginificent decline occured in the numbers of amphibians and in the diversity of the species between 1975 and 2002. The editor proposed a explanation that the amphibian eggs are eaten by the trout which were introuced into the park in 1975. However, this is just one possible explanation, and other explanation may be plausible as well.

First of all, between the decades, the weather in the park might have changed significently, which caused the declination of amphibians. If the temeperature is suitable for amphibians in 1975, but the temeperature rise up and cause the extinction of some species of amphibians. Or maybe, an earthquake happened between 1975 and 2002, and it changed the geology of the national park and cause the isolation of the habitat of amphibians. Then the scientists cannot find them easily, which caused the declination in the survey as well. Therefore, these could be one possible reason for the declination.

Secondly, besides the trout would eat the egg of amphibians, there may be other predators would hunt for amphibians. The possible predators could be introduced into the park without noticing by the scientists, and began their life in the park by hunting amphibians. As the time passing, the group of the predators grew up and invaded into the balance of amphibians. Finally, when the sceintists notice the declination is too late, most of the amphibians are eaten by the predators.

Furthermore, during the decades, there might be a disease prevailing in the group of amphibians. A pendamic kiilled most of the amphibians in short time, and the scientists did not notice this happened. And it’s too late when the survey conduct in 2002. More than half of the amphibians are dead because the disease.

To sum up, there are many possible explanations for the declination of amphibians and all of them seems plausible. The editor should not presume the explanation easily and ignore other possible explanations. As an editor of an environmental magazine, further survey should conduct to make the conclusion convincing.