While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that homework should not be assigned more than twice a week in the high schools of the state Attra based on the findings from a statewide survey which shows that students in the district of Marlee who were given less home work earn better grades overall than the students in the district of Sanlee who were given more homework. The argument, though convincing at first glance, upon on further contemplation, necessitates answers to the following questions in order to be properly evaluated.

Firstly, are the teaching methodologies in the districts of Sanlee and Marlee similar? In other words, can the findings from one district be used as a generalization for the rest of the districts? It is possible that the teaching methodologies in the two districts are markedly different - perhaps the teaching style in the district of Marlee is more practical oriented whereas the teachingy style in the district of Sanlee is more theory oriented and hence, the students of Marlee are able to perform better in the exams. Further, the student-teacher ratio might be very less in Marlee as compared to that of Sanlee and consequently, the teachers in Marlee are able to provide quality education to the students. If either of the above scenarios have merit, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, are the students in the district of Sanlee doing the homework that is assingned to them diligently? There is a possibility that the students, though they are assigned the homework, come to the class without even trying to complete it. Homework is assigned by the teachers so that the students will have a reason to go through the lessons taught in the class and make an effort to complete the homework. This way, the teachers can bolster the concepts that are taught to them in the class and improve memory retention. However, if the reality is such that the students, no matter how strident the teachers are, do not even open the books to do the homework, then the teachers' efforts are sure to become futile no matter what. If this turns out to be true, then the author's assertion that homework does not help in improving grades does not hold water.

Finally, is the homework being made to be worked out by the students in the class itself in the district of Marlee? It is often the case that the teachers ask the students to work on the homework in their presence itself. This way, teachers are by the side of the students to quickly come to the rescue of the students if and when they fumble with something. Even this kind of teaching is beneficial for the students as it ensures that the students are working on the homework and also serves to better learning simultaneously. The above scenario can siginificantly weaken the author's recommendation in case it has any merit.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands now, is unpersuasive for its does not provide answers to any of the questions posed above. If the author can provide answers to the above questions, perhaps in the form of systematic study, one would be in a better position to evaluate the author's reocmmendation.