People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Along with the progress of human civilization and the complexity of society, many people began to attend university for a variety of purposes, giving rise to the issue of why people attend university. Logically, people who grew up in a diverse environment would certainly maintain various understandings of such an issue, but according to my rationale, the reason why people attend university is that they can achieve profound knowledge and can build relationships with people in the university.

First, a person can achieve in-depth knowledge in the university. To be specific, what students learn in high school is just intermediate knowledge about general subjects, such as mathematics, history, arts, and language. In other words, they cannot pursue profound knowledge about those subjects in high school. However, if a person attends university, that person could choose the subject he wants to study and learn topics that were not tackled in the high school curriculum. This situation is best demonstrated by my sister's experience. My sister had a dream to be a biologist in the medical field. At first, she thought the high school curriculum is enough to give her information to be a biologist and would be better to work in the hospital right after high school graduation to get work experience. But, after she graduated high school, she realized that the knowledge achieved in high school is not enough to be a biologist, she needed to have better knowledge about the field, which drove her to go to the university and major in medical biology. Ultimately, since the knowledge people got in high school is not enough to achieve their dream, they choose to go to the university to be professionals in their field and achieve their goals.

On top of that, people can build bonds and make connections in university. All humans require so-called connections to survive in this harsh society. Indeed, the connection is not a must thing to have but it would somehow help when a person encounters obstacles that are hard to deal with alone. Thus, since university is where many peers gather that have similar knowledge and level, contemporary people go to the university to make bonds and make connections that would help them someday. For instance, my father once got fired from his occupation due to the IMF crisis that happened in Korea. This crisis led many companies to get bankrupt and caused a huge amount of unemployment, and my father was one of its victims. While my father was struggling to get a job, he asked one of his friends from college if he can get an occupation in a friend’s company. Since that friend knows my father and friend from the university, he helped my father to get a job in his company. Due to this, my father was able to overcome one of the major obstacles in his life and success in the future. From this example, we can see how the connection built in university could help a person to get over the problem he faces. Thus, people go to the university to build relationships with people in the university.

In conclusion, from the above substantiation and assessments, the reason why people attend the university is to increase their knowledge and build connections with other people. Therefore, nothing in my mind regarding the previous issue overshadows the statement above.