The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the memo predicts that the demand for heating oil will increase in the next five years in the North-Eastern United States. The reasons he cites are - most homes in the northeastern US traditionally use oil for heating during winters, in the last heating season, the region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures and finally, the climate forcasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. However, before this claim can be properly evaluated, we will need answers to the following questions.

What is the number of homes in the northeastern US that use oil as their major fuel for heating during winters? The author mentions that most homes use oil for heating but does not give a particular number which makes us skeptical about the author's prediction. It may be the case that there are only a few hundreds of homes in the northeastern US and even if all of them use oil for heating, it may not be a propitious business for the company as manufacturing oil for such a puny number may outweigh the investment required to manufacture the oil. The author also mentions that the region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures and again, the author's evidence seems ambigous as the question that immediately follows is - How far are the temperatures below the normal temperature? Perhaps, the temperatures are only slightly below the normal temperature and those temperatures does not mandate the people to heat their houses aggrasively with oil. Or, the temperatures are negligebly below the normal so that the folks can get away with hot beverages by their side throughout the day. If either of the scenarios have merit, then the author's argument is significnalty weakened.

Moreover, if the climate forecasters predict that a similar weather pattern will continue in the years to come, does this forecast coerce the folks in the region to move southwards during the winters? When there is a scientific evidence that shows similar weather patterns will continue in the upcoming years as well, it is highly probable that poeple in the region can brainstorm on how to mitigate such scenarios and come up with the idea of temporarly traversing to a warmer region. It is plausible that the cost of keeping the house warm throughout the day during winters may transcend the cost of moving to warmer region and thus, duress the people in the region to temporarly shift to a warmer regsion. If this is the case, then contrary to the author's prediction, the demand for oil would in fact fall.

Do the new homes that are being built to accomodate the increasing population use the traditional system of heating? The author prematurely assumes that the new homes would be using oil to keep the houses warm during winter. However, it is a facial assumption, in as much as the author does not provide any specific evidence to bolster his assumption. Nowadays, there are advanced heating technologies that are used keep the house warm. These heating technologies have a very low carbon footprint, easy to maintain unlike heating systems that use oil as fuel and cost much lesser. Hence, it is may not be fallacious to assume that the new houses that are being built would be adoption newer and advanced heating technologies rather than using oil for heating. If this turns out to be true, then the author's recommendation would indeed have adverse effects and the company would be in precarious position if it takes the author's view point seriously.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands nows, is considerably flawed as it relies on a series of unwarrented assumptions and, we will be able to properly evaluate the author's argument if the author can provide answers to the above questions in a detailed mannered, perhaps in the form of a systematic study.