The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from the director of a large group of hospitals, the director recommedns that they use UltraClean hand soap at all of their hand-washing stations based on the results from a controlled laboratory study as well as due to the decrease in patient infections in a hospital that used UltraClean hand soap. The arugment, though convincing at first glance, it seems to be dependent on a series of unwarrented assumptions.

Firstly, it is mentioned that the study of a concentrated solution of extra strenght UltraClean hand soap was carried out in a controlled laboratory. The director, by claming that the hand soap will reduce the harmful bacteria by 40 percent more, fallaciously assumes that the laboratory environment will exsist even in all the hospitals. However, this may not be the case as the laboratory environment is more easily controllable than the acutal hospital enviornments. If this scenario has any merit, then the director's argument will be sigificantly weakened.

Secondly, the directory prematurely assumes that the concentrated solution of UltraClean hand soap will not cause any side-effects. However, there is a possibility that this solution may produce some side effects which haven't been unraveled in the laboratory study. If this turn out to be true, then the director's recommendation would actually cause unanticipated complications in the patients and would damage the reputation of the hospitals.

Finally, the director mentions that there has been a significant decrease in the patient infections in a hospital that used UltraClean hand soap. Again, the director spuriously assumes that this decrease in patient infections is solely due to the use of UltraClean hand soap and nothing else. However, this is a facial assumption; in as much as the director does not provide any evidence about any other practices that might have been taken simultaneously or it is just a coincidence that the patient infections would have anyway decreased irrespecitve of the usage of UltraClean hand soap. If either of the cases has any merit, then the director's recommendation would prove to be futile.

The argument rests on a seriss of unwarrented assumption and is, therefore, unpesuasive at it stands. If the director addresses the assumptions stated above and provide answers, perhaps, in the form of a detailed systematic study, one will be in better postion to evaluate the recommendation.