The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo recommends the board of directors that they venture into other food products providing them at low cost given the success they have with low priced Bargain Brand breakfast cereal product. However, before the recommendation can be properly evaluated, one would need answers to the following three questions.

Firstly, will other food products be received with same enthusiasm as they did with Bargain Brand cereal? In other words, can the success they had with cereals be taken for granted for other food products as well? Different foods are consumed for different purposes - some are taken for their nutritional value while others are taken solely for pleasure. It is not judicious to come to a hasty conclusion that the company will have the same success with other food products as well by providing them at low cost. It is possible that the market might stigmatize the low priced products as low quality products which can eventually have a detrimental effect even on the sales of the cereal product. If the above scenario has any merit, then the author's recommendation will not bring the aniticipated profits.

Secondly, are there any other players in the market that are already providing other food products at very low price? In a highly competative market, it is highly plausible that on seeing the success strategy of a company, other companies can come up with their own version of such strategies to make the most out of such cheap tricks. Hence, one cannot be considered inane for assuming that there are already some brands that provide other food products at low prices. If this happens to be the scenario in the market, then it can be considered that Bargain Brand is too late to the game and the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Finally, will providing other food products at low prices be as lucrative as the cereal product? Perhaps, they are able to make a good profit without increasing the prices even once for the demand cereal has in the market. However, it may not be the case for other food products as well. It is possible that other food products may not have as much demand as that of cereals and selling them at very low prices will actually make the company incur loses let alone profit. The prevalance of such a case will drain the money from the company and the author's recommendation will prove to be baneful to the company.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as it relies on series of unwarranted concessions. One will be better informed to evaluate the efficacy of the recommendation if the author can provide answers to the above questions in a detailed manner.