Grades encourage students to work harder at school. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.
I agree that grades encourage students to work harder. I feel this way for the reasons that will be
explained in the following passage.
First, providing grades is the easiest way of telling the students where exactly they stand in the class. In other
words, it is appraising them of how well do they know the subject. This can help them assess how would they
perform when they start attending job interviews. Having knowledge about this can help them
evaluate the areas they are poor in, thus helping them to work harder on those areas.
Second, if the grades are not provided, it would be quite difficult for the student to understand how well s/he is
able to comprehend the subject. It would very well be the case that he/she realizes that her/his knowledge is not
upto the mark once he/she starts finding job in the professional world. At this point, it would be too late to
have an epiphany as he/she would neither have someone to guide nor the time to self-learn the subject.
As the tests are conducted and the students are graded at regular intervals, students can quickly assess themselves
what are their strong and weak areas and can encourage them to work on their weaknessess accordingly.
Finally, grades also inculcate healthy compitition among the students. Grades encourage students to work harder
inorder for them to go past their classmates. People generally say that providing grades make the students
compare among themselves which might turn into bitter battles. But, if there is proper guidence from the
teacher, grades can actually help in bringing the best from each of the students and thus help humanity progress
further.
Thus, I feel that grades encourage students to work harder as they help the students find out
where exaclty they stand in the class, help them identify their weaknessess before it is too late and
inculcate healthy competition among the peers which would serve to bring out the best from the students.