Blue Highway and Green Highway

The opponents of motorists' lobby's plan to widen the Blue Highway recommend that they add a bicycle lane instead in order to ameliorate the highway's traffic issue. They suggest this based on worsening of traffic jams on Green Highway upon adding a lane as well as the residents’ penchant for bicycling. However, before the argument can be properly evaluated, one would require answers to the following questions.

Firstly, are Blue Highway and Green Highway similar? The proponents of bicycle lane prematurely assume that the circumstances from Green Highway can be used to generalise and make predictions for the Blue Highway. However, such considerations can prove to be malignant. There is a possibility that the Blue Highway and Green Highway are remarkably different in that while the Blue Highways meanders through the sparsely populated pastoral landscape, the Green Highway runs through the densely populated urban city. Furthermore, it is possible that the Blue Highway is in its pristine condition whereas the Green Highway requires an overhaul at periodic intervals. If either of the scenarios has merit, then the bicycle lane proponents' argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, do most of the residents using Blue Highway reside within the distance that can be travelled by a bicycle? The residents may prefer bicycles over motorcycles to commute to work everyday. However, it is possible that their commute is so long that they have to prefer motorcycles over bicycles even if they do not want to. As mentioned above, if the average distance to be travelled is 10 kilometers if not more, then the bicycle lane proponents' recommendation will not serve the purpose of alleviating traffic issues on Blue Highway.

Finally, how safe is it to add a bicycle lane on a highway? The proponents of bicycle lane fallaciously assume that using bicycles does not lead to any accidents. However, this assumption is spurious in that it is highly plausible that people commuting to work on bicycles will be in a haste and cause accidents on the highway. These accidents will only exacerbate the traffic jam issues. If this turns out to be the case after adding a bicycle lane, the bicycle lane proponents' prediction does not hold water.

Therefore, the argument, as it stands, is unpersuasive as the proponents of the bicycle lane do not provide any information that would help one evaluate the above posed questions. One will be in a better position to evaluate the argument if the bicycle lane proponents provide information addressing the above questions in a detailed manner leaving no room for ambiguity.