Blue Highway and Green Highway

In the editorial section of the local news paper, the opponents of the motorists' lobby suggest that a bicycle lane be added to Blue highway to reduce rush hour traffic. This recommendation was drawn based on the issues that plague Green highway after the addition of a new motorists' lane as well as the bicycling interest of the residents. This recommendation can however be properly evaluated if these three questions are answered.

Firstly, Do the residents who enjoy bicycling as a hobby live within a cycling proximity to their work place?. The opponents prematurely assume that they would be eager to cycle to work in the morning rather than drive, however this may not be the case. For example if the distance to their work place is over 10km and they have to pass through the highway to get there, they are then obligated to pass through the highway abet unwillingly. If the either of these scenarios is put into consideration, then the conclusion may be significantly weakened.

Secondly, Can green highway be compared to blue highway?. It is possible that Blue highway and Green highway are not analogous. Green highway may be located in an urban residential district while Blue highway may be located at a pastoral district with sparse population. It could also be that Green highway is the only highway that connects to the business district in the town while Blue highway has other alternative routes to the business district. Further, it is possible that Green highway may be in need of repair while Blue highway is in pristine condition. If this conditions are put into consideration, the argument will not hold water.

Finally, the opponents of the motorists' lobby are assuming that the issues that plagued Green highway last year are still in play. It could be that the Green highway had yet to install traffic lights along the highway after adding the new lane which could have have resolved already. It is also possible that there where spots along the highway in need of repair that caused the increased traffic surge. if the above stated scenario is true, it could weakened the recommendation.

In conclusion, as it stands, the argument is relatively flawed due to its inference from several unwarranted assumptions. If the above stated questions are put into consideration and more evidence is offered in the recommendation proposed by the opponents of the motorists' lobby, then the recommendation can be properly evaluated and become more persuasive.