College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs

Choosing a college major proves daunting for most entering college students and it could take them days, months or a year to make a concise decision. The prompt recommends that students should decide on a career path that conforms most with their interests and skill set rather than picking courses for readily available job prospects in the labour market. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this suggestion that colleges should consider their skill, ability and interest when deciding on a college major for 2 reasons.

Firstly, the job market is rather dynamic as change is a constant in the human cycle of life, thus choosing a career path based on the readily available jobs in the market at the time of school entry without considering it in the long term is at a student’s own risk. For instance before the pandemic, a plebian white collar job at an advertising agency that requires lots of onsite appearance would fetch good pay and is very attractive, however with the onset of the pandemic, remote jobs are the latest trends for the labour market and people with the required skills would adapt promptly while the others would have o find other alternatives to make a living. Consequently, the unpredictable job market is not a good mark for choosing a college major. Besides, what is the probability that remote jobs will continue to be a trend after the pandemic?

Secondly, even if we assume that the job market is static and not dynamic, there is still the issue of self satisfaction, happiness and a sense of achievement that comes with a career that aligns with your interests. For example, a student passionate about Geology pragmatically choosing a path of medicine due to the plethora of opportunities in the job market may later struggle to keep up with her studies due to school pressure or later in the future not find any self satisfaction or sense of achievement in the medical field. She may find herself wondering how her career would be if she had chosen a geology major instead. A sense of achievement is an end product of the desire and happiness an individual derives from his or her career and persons with such tend to be more committed, efficient and productive.

Finally, with the frequently evolving global economy and the competitive job market, it is imperative that students pick a major that is practical. However this is why the students should pursue a path that aligns with their interests and skills so that they can be more grounded and firm against their opponents in the job market.

In conclusion, people who tend to forgo their interest in favour of readily available job prospects in the labour market do so at their own peril.