The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers artists or scientists but by the general welfare of its people

The general idea of a great and progressive nation is most times set by various factors such as job opportunities, quality education, military prowess, and excellent health care. The prompt suggests that the greatest indicator of a great nation is the general welfare of its people as opposed to individual achievements. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt for three main reasons.

Firstly, success in a project is due to the collective effort of all key members of that project. Thus, the welfare of the people matters in building a great nation. For instance, there are key figures from Nigeria that partake in making world economy decisions in the likes of Ngozi Okojo- iweala the director general of the world trade organization. However, her sole achievement can not buttress the fact that the Nigerian economy is in dire trait. Thus, it can be seen that the individual progress although may bring prestige to a nation, it does not uplift the nations progress as a whole.

Secondly, the education standards of a great nation must be well rounded, developed and made accessible to everyone in the nation to ensure all round progress of a nation. For instance; the achievements of artists although they add to the prestige of the country is not an indicator of a great nation, For example; the female Nigerian artist Yemi Alade has brought the music industry great prestige by performing at the Earth shot in London alongside other British artists or Burna boy winning a Grammy award for his album twice as tall. This accolades doesn't change the fact that the music industry is not truly supported by the country and most of Nigeria's artist have to get music education outside the country. Thus the fact that two Nigerian musicians have brought great prestige to the country doesn't cover for the discrepancy in music education in the country.

Thirdly, A nation's robust economy may telltale a good standard of living in that nation however this is not the case at every turn. For instance, India is one of the most fast growing nations in education and commerce, contributing greatly to the medical field however these approbations cannot beguile the poor standard of living in the country, the elevated rates of poverty and crime as well. Thus showing that displaying the pleasant aspects of the nation prompted by individual achievements can not mask the other poor aspects of the nation.

In conclusion, Although there countries like Korea that widely promote their artists and individual achievements of their citizens, they also ensure that they pay attention to the welfare of the vast majority thus proving their status as a great nation. Finally, the overall welfare of the people in a `nation stands as the surest indicator of a great nation as opposed to individual acheivemets