The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Opinions are divided over whether or not general welfare of the people can be a reliable criterion of a nation’s greatness. Since that a nation is composed of a group of people, we can hardly deem a nation great if its people are suffering. At the same time, great achievements of each individual citizen do play vital roles in supporting and advancing a nation’s general welfare.

Generally speaking, when we think of measuring a great nation, the following aims come to mind: robust economy, cultural richness, safety and security against military invasions, supportive health care system or individual autonomy and freedom. To be considered great at something, an entity must excel at its calling or purpose. Because a nations exist for the welfare of its people, the greatness of a nation hinges on this indicator is unquestionable.

Yet, the statement seems to overlook the importance of the contributions from individuals, those who bring these aims into fruition. In other words, general welfare will not be realized unless everyone work hard toward the common goal. For example, if a ruler is selfish and reckless, he or she can hardly come up with policies that benefit the public. Instead, ruler's corruption or malpractice may even harm the nation widely. However, if a ruler is considerate and farsighted, we are likely to expect a nation under progress toward happiness.

To become a great nation, we rely not only on politics, but also on art and science. Great artists provide touching works that comfort us and inspire our imagination. Famous scientists change our life and the whole nation through their inventions and innovations. For example, Leonardo da vanchi opened a new chapter in art by combining anatomical knowledge and physical aesthetics. Likewise, Copernicus challenged the sun-centered theory and thus made a big leap in astronomy. The significant effect in the general welfare from each individual cannot be denied.

In the final analysis, in asserting that general welfare serves as the single yardstick for defining a nation’s greatness, the statements misses the point that general welfare is the end product of individual achievement.