Some people believe that success in creative fields, such as painting, fiction writing, and filmmaking, primarily requires hard work and perseverance. Others believe that such success mainly requires innate talents that cannot be learned.

There is a hot debate over whether hard work or innate talent is more vital to achieve success in creative fields. A famous saying goes, "One percent of inspiration and ninety-nine percent of perspiration contribute to success." While it seems to put more emphasis on the importance of hard work, it also addresses the need of innate ability. Yet, I believe that if without perseverance, we cannot expect a good result even he or she is gifted.

It is likely that the statement focuses on the creative field because they are the subjects requiring the most imagination, delicate skills and detailed observation in order to bring out outstanding works. When we think of successful artist or famous writer, we often link them with an early noticed prodigy. For example, I was once impressed by a little girl appeared in a singing contest on a TV show. She sings amazingly beautiful even without any teacher teaches her yet. No one can deny how talents play the central role in this girl.

However, after several years, I searched on the internet about the girl but find only few videos. Then I realized that even a prodigy can becomes nobody if without persistent cultivation and improvement.

Some detractors may argue that success will not come without talent. Admittedly, it will not be an easy task for a normal one to reach success, but it does not mean impossible. For example, Michael Jordan got kicked out of high school basketball team because of poor playing. It shows that he was not viewed as a talented player. Yet, he proved himself by polishing his skills through practicing again and again. As a result, he became a household name. This is unquestionable an inspiration for those who worries about lacking of talent.

In the final analysis, although it may require more hard work for normal people to become successful, chances are still there if we strive toward the goal.