The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement takes cooperation as a central value to a successful leadership and regards competition as an opposite one. However, in my point of view, cooperation and competition can happen at the same time if manage properly.

The value of cooperation cannot be emphasized more during the time we grow up. Since childhood, kids are taught to cooperate with brothers or sisters in order to win the games or to clean up houses more efficiently by doing together. After getting into school, there are always some assignments focuses on teamwork. Teachers mean to bring students significant abilities about respecting different viewpoints and figuring out a common solution trough discussion. Even in the work place, cooperation seems to be a core value within most of the companies. Boss often expects all of the employees to work for a same goal. Admittedly, this process is no doubt a required lesson to young people before they can become successful leaders because we expect a good leader to be able to listen to others.

Yet, we can barely improve without competition. Children crave to win games, so they practice their skill. Students want to rank high, so they study hard. Workers strive for high salary, so they perform impressively. Some detractors state that competition may possibly result in argument. Or, some people may even try to beat others by all means. However, if people compete in a proper way, competition has extreme power to bring out people's best. Another crucial characteristic of a good leader is that he or she works dedicatedly toward a goal and thinks of how to make progress to be superior to the present all the time.

In the final analysis, cooperation and competition walk hand-in-hand to the well-preparation of a good leadership. As long as the competition happens in a justice way, we can expect as much benefit from it as from cooperation.