"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

The memo states that because Omni university showed a significant increase in the enrollment of online programs last year which makes a decrease in the expenses for dormitory and classrooms, Humana university should views it a model in order to attract students and save cost. However, the argument rests on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Citing the report of a 50 percent increase of students in Omni university, the author claims that the online degree program draw students successfully. Nevertheless, there is the possibility of a more than 50 percent loss of students from physical classes. It is also possible that students prefer to attend class online last year because there was economic crisis and online classes were cheaper. Or, perhaps, there was a pandemic going on and learning online was a better option. It is never easy to use an annul report to predict a long-term trend. In order to verify the assumption, more details of the report are required.

In addition, the author says that Omni university decreases expenditure for dormitory and classroom because most of the students change into online classes. Still, there is a good chance that the school actually makes a renovation over the buildings and change into energy efficient facility. To save budget on maintaining building is one thing, to promote online classrooms is quite another. There are many other ways to cut down the cost of the buildings.

Moreover, the memo mentioned that Humana university fails to attract student simply because of lacking online program. Granted that good online programs can attract students is true, it does not necessary follow that the lack of students can attribute to no online programs. The author fails to consider if it is the problem of the old school hardware, unfriendly environment or teacher with bad reputation.

In a nutshell, the argument seems to be reliable at first glance, but it may fall apart upon closer scrutiny. The author needs to address several unproven assumption to strengthen the argument.