In business, education, and government, it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust.

The statement says that skepticism benefit the leaders in many fields since they need to work hard as to prove themselves as trustworthy. However, in my point of view, neither more nor less skepticism seems better in most of the situations.

Skepticism unquestionably acts as a central role to make sure a leader's quality. In a democratic society, election acts as a tool for the public to express agreement or skepticism toward the leaders. It can prevent the happening of malpractice or corruption. It also encourages improvement because the leader needs to keep pursuit the general welfare if he or she wants to win the next election. For instance, the Water gate scandal increases the scrutiny and accountability to which our public officials are held. President Nixon was forced to resign and left the office thereafter. This history addresses the indispensability of skepticism.

Furthermore, it is vital for people to question the justice and appropriation of current regulation and laws under this ever-changing world. Recently, Argentina's government just makes abortion legal. It was a shock and a breakthrough to the long-lasting tradition in the Catholic world. In fact, because the leaders have notice how many woman have suffered from the infection and death caused by illegal abortion, they make a big progress on woman's right by placing skepticism on the previous tradition.

On the other hand, undue skepticism is likely to bring negative impact. For example, teachers will lose motivation and energy in teaching if his or her students keep being doubtful about the lessons. Leaders of the government will feel frustrated if the public is unwilling to abide by his or her policy. Likewise, bosses will not be able to manage the company efficiently if the employees keep questioning his or her decisions. Admittedly, skepticism does benefit the leaders most of the time; its drawback may outweigh its benefit if not managed properly.

In the final analysis, remaining skeptical with a leader is positive and to be praised as far as it is done wisely. Namely, if people always suspect incapacity in their leaders with a certain degree of hostility, they automatically prevent their leaders from expressing themselves.