"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument concludes that shifting more time to national news from weather and local news has leaded to the lost of audience and advertising contracts. However, readers need further proof to verify the augment offered by the author.

The memo states that there were complaints received from viewers concerning about the less coverage of weather and local news. Nevertheless, we need further information about the viewers to make the statement more convincing. For example, if 50 thousands viewers are appreciated about the change, and only 5 people were unhappy. Complaints made by those people fails to represent the general attitude of the audience. Or, if just more and more audience move from television to internet to acquire news over the past years? Lacking actual numbers about the viewers, the percentage of the complainers and the sound of those who did not complain but leaved anyway, those complaints can hardly be used as indicators of actual response.

In addition, the author claims that business had advertising contrasts canceled because of the decrease of weather and local news. In order to maintain this proposition, some hard evidence needs to be produced that those companies remain as robust as before. Granted that local business stays in close relationship to local news is true, their willing to post advertisement is related to their budget and the whole economic climate as well. Besides, the author may overlooks the increasing trend of internet advertisement. The argument could be strengthen by further supporting evidence about the business's advertising plans.

Furthermore, it's inappropriate to jump into the conclusion that returning to the original news setting is the way to attract viewers and avoid losing advertising contrast. The author fails to justifiably conclude that news setting is the reason of customers lost. Even if restoring the previous programming style will maintains the viewers and contrasts, it does not necessary follow a growth of audience and more advertising revenues.

To substantiate the augment, the author would have to provide sufficient evidence as mentioned above.