A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is vital to the development of a nation. Therefore to draw a comprehensive curriculum is of great importance. The statement suggests that a uniform national curriculum suits all students before college. However, there may be several potential problems behind this argument.

Curriculum applied from elementary school to junior and senior high school prepares students to be grown adults by building complete knowledge structures. The same quality and thoughts lay in this educational system ensure that all students are taught core values and they are able to meet the least requirement of the society. While we can expect students with average knowledge and skills, we may wonder if it benefits the improvement of the nation at the same time.

Considering first the effectiveness of this educational system, since all lessons are compulsory, students may feel tedious and lazy in classes. Since every student bear his or her own advantage and disadvantage, if lessons with more variety can be added, most of the students will be more likely to find their interest and cultivate specialties in the future. Education is not only to convey knowledge one-directional, but also to inspire and enlighten. In addition to the required lessons, which are often formal and traditional, elective courses and optional subjects provide students with more motivation and possibilities. For instance, Taiwan's students need to study Chinese and English since elementary school. When I went into high school, I was pleasantly surprised to find that other language classes such as German, French, Spanish and even Russian are also available. Although I did not master them all, they did open my view by knowing the culture and history behind each language and finally made me want to become a language teacher.

Likewise, another drawback of the uniform curriculum is lack of emphasis on local or regional culture. For being a Taiwanese, indigenous cultures are valuable assets for us to remember where we come from. Giving that there are immutable morale rules and common knowledge among a nation, differences and unique contribute to the flourish of a nation as well.

In the final analysis, homogenization of education system would amount to double-edged sword. While a basic national curriculum is fundamental to all students, we cannot overlook the importance of the elective and optional ones. The optimal curriculum will be a complement of one another rather than a dominant one.