The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

The memo states that teachers from Sanlee should assign less homework like teachers from Marlee do, so that their students can get better grades and receive education as scheduled. However, readers need more evidences to verify the statement.

Citing the survey from math and science teachers, the author claims that students assigned less homework have better performance. However, this assumption is unwarranted because math and science cannot represent all other subjects. While it might be true that students need more time to think over formulas and theories, it does not mean daily homework practice is not required in fields such as language or music. Lacking information of who conducted the survey and how the survey was conducted weakens the argument that the policy can be applied to all high schools.

In addition, the author states that the reason why students from Marlee not only score higher than students from Sanlee but also move on to the next grade or graduate on time is less homework. However, in order to decide this, some hard evidence needs to produce that students from both school are at similar level and both work hard on studying. Another significant factor which should not be left out is to make sure that students make good use of their free time saving from reduced homework. Even if the homework lessens, we would not expect an improved performance if students spend their time sleeping or playing games.

Consequently, it seems too hasty to draw a sweeping conclusion that less homework translates into good grades. To strengthen the argument, evidence from a solid and reliable survey of all teachers from the high school is needed. What's more, school performance of students depends on personal talent and endeavor, as teachers and assignments work in collaboration to make a good result. Therefore, we also need further information about student's background.