Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The statement claims that studying abroad is highly recommended for colleges and universities students. Indeed, traveling to different countries or receiving information from the opposite of the world seems to be more and more commonplace nowadays. However, whether or not the benefit of spending a semester studying in a foreign country overweigh the drawbacks should be seriously considered.

Through studying abroad, students tend to get the opportunities absorbing themselves in an unfamiliar world. Sometimes, students may find it hard to get involved at the first place. Nevertheless, visiting a foreign country nearly always broaden people’s horizons. Since being immersed in a different culture, we learned to appreciate and respect by acknowledging histories and stories behind each tradition. For that living in a foreign country, we learned to speak foreign language not only in class but also throughout daily life, such as shopping, chatting or even watching TV at home. Studying abroad also offers students chances to make friends from around the world and may open a door for future cross-country collaboration. From these aspects, we can expect lots of advantages from student’s experiences of studying abroad.

On the other hand, disagreement with the statement may be expressed in the view that studying in a foreign country takes big amount of money and time than receiving education in hometown. For some economically disadvantaged students, they are likely to find this requirement implausible and unfair. They may need to work a part-time job in order to pay for the tuition fee. For some students who already spend much focusing on their compulsory lessons, they may result in poor performances because of striving to meet the requirement to study abroad in the limited time.

Detractors of the statement may also contend it is merely enough for students to learn different cultures through media and websites now since that the access of information has become quite easy and cost-effective than before. Likewise, they can make friends with the foreign students introduced to the class. Practicing foreign language with a foreigner whenever and wherever we want is possible as long as we log on to the internet. Due to above reasons, making studying abroad a requirement seems to be impractical and costly at certain point.

In the final analysis, although the benefits of studying in a foreign country for students are well-recognized, it is better for school to offer abundant chances instead of making it a compulsory regulation since the benefits do not hold true in every student.