"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author recommends that increase budget on advertising is a solution to lose of the audience. However, to access the efficacy of this recommendation, some questions want answers.

Citing an annual report which shows decreased number of people attending movies produced by Super Screen but an increased percentage of positive reviews, the author claims that they are losing customers because customers are not aware of their good movie. However, the arguer fails to take into account of other possibility that leads to less audience. Is there other emerging company producing more attractive movies at the same time? Is the society undergoing an economic crisis that everyone strains to save their money instead of spending on watching movie? Are people favors to stay at home under the suggestion of social distancing due to an outbreak of a pandemic disease? The statics may be misinterpreted without providing more information.

The memo put forward the claim that increased percentage of positive reviews is indicators of their good movie quality. This may well be. But unless we know the hard numbers of the reviews, we cannot say that with any certainty. What if there are more positive reviews in other years but represent as smaller percentage because of a bigger amount of all reviews? Or, perhaps audiences who do not appreciate the movie just no longer want to post any review. The author fails to justifiably conclude that lack of public awareness, not the movie itself, is the cause of less audience.

While a concrete connection between decreased audience and public awareness is not effectively made, it seems too hasty to draw a sweeping conclusion that allocate funds to advertisement will improve the condition. Since movie is a fast-changing industry, does the company conduct a valid poll recently to know the trend of current customer's taste? Granted that raising public's attention is a good idea, is advertisement an efficient way for doing so? In order to decide this, a more thorough evaluation over the policy is required.

Consequently, the author needs to answer the above question to make the recommendation more valuable.