The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increasedby 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms care actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream - a dairy product made

from milk - at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Grounding on the report of improved efficiency of collecting milk and the decreased labor costs, the price of its product is supposed to be lower than before. When the price of a carton of cream turns out to be in fact double than two years ago, the author attributes this phenomenon to the inflation of the price. However, the statement fails to rule out several alternative explanations which will also lead to higher prices.

The report has mentioned the expansion of the dairy farm over the ten years. It is entirely possible to increase the overall budget of running a farm. In addition, applying machines to take over the human force indicates an indispensable spending on high technology. What the report did not mention is that whether there is an increase of other cost over the last decades, such as maintaining the facilities, managing a disease outbreak among the cows, or dealing with a devastating natural disaster. These underlying costs will all add to the price of the product.

Besides, perhaps the farm actually provides a wide variety of dairy products to the market and they are sold in quite good deals. What the report has left out was that only the price of the carton of cream increased and the rest of the other did not. More information is required for the product mentioned. Is there an increase demand over the last two years? What about the other eight years ever since the farm paid less in labor and time? Back to the report itself, we don't even know whether the study was conducted scientifically because no hard numbers are provided.

In conclusion, the author seems to draw a sweeping conclusion based on several unwarranted assumptions. The alternative possibilities mentioned above need to be rule out in order to establish a convincing argument.