The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company s president In an effort to improve our employees productivity we should implement electronic monitoring of employees Internet use from their wor

The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries recommends that installing a new software to restrict employees' internet use on work computers will prevent the employees from wasting working hours, foster better work ethics and also improve the overall profits of the company. However, this recommendation although it may seem very persuasive leaves remove for ambiguity. For this suggestion to be more explicit, three assumptions must be considered.

To begin, restricting the internet on the work computers of employees may not necessarily prevent them from wasting work time. What if these employees find our recreational activities to entertain themselves like playing card games, Gossiping in the tea room or playing with their smartphones.

Also, studies have proven that rest is an essential part to work productivity and is greatly advised. Thus, it can be inferred that the installation of the software to restrict internet on the employees' computers would not necessarily improve productivity and save time during working hours.

Secondly, the vice president of human resources assumes that by restricting internet use and punishing offenders, work productivity and work ethics would improve. However, this may have a negative impact on the trust the employees have in the company and also create a hostile work environment. The employees may also find a way to bypass these restrictions with the use of VPN's to continue their entertainment as way to repudiate authority. All of these would instead reduce work productivity and may lead to loss of employees thus strongly weakening the recommendation by the vice president.

Finally, If the recommendation is true and work ethics and productivity is improved, installing the software and running it daily on all the computers in the company would be costly to maintain and the benefits of this system may necessary outweigh the cost of the system. It may instead be an unnecessary cost to the company's budget, Hence causing the suggestion of the vice president to not hold water.

In conclusion, as it is, the argument is relatively flawed and leaves remove for ambiguity. However, if the above stated assumptions are put into consideration and more evidence is produced to strengthen the recommendation, then it may be properly evaluated and more persuasive.