The drawbacks of traditional energy sources mean that they are not a long term solution to the problem of meeting ever increasing energy needs.

There are various energy sources available for industries consumption and individual consumption such as oil, natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear energy all of which improve the standard of living and make life easier for the world at large. Although these energy sources have multiple advantages, there are certain disadvantages that make them unsustainable in the long term. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt that these energy sources be phased out in favor of alternative sources with less detrimental effects to the world to meet the ever growing economy at large for two reasons.

Firstly, environmental regulations have been put in place to check these energy sources, however these rules can still not outweigh the negative effects of these energy sources on the environment. For instance,Nuclear energy can be regarded as relatively inexpensive with no air or water pollution, it also seems to have an inexhaustible fuel supply. However, this energy source accumulates a lot of nuclear waste that is very expensive to take care of and requires long term storage. Also the accidental release of these nuclear radiation is a blight on the health of the people and environment at large as were seen in the Fukushima in Japan and Chernobyl in Ukraine. Thus, these drawbacks make it an unsuitable energy source for the long term and it should be supplanted by other favorable alternative sources.

Secondly, these energy sources have an adverse effect on human health as well as wildlife despite all the advantages they provide. For example the hydroelectric energy source makes use of damming water sources to create electricity. This exacts pressure on the climate as the hot water is released into the water sources and destroys wildlife and their habitats. Drilling of oil and transportation of oil leads to contamination of land and water sources due to oil spills. An example is the Olobiri of the 1900’s located in the South south part of Nigeria were there was sparse vegetation due to soil contamination and loss of aquatic life and portable water due to oil spillages. All these negative impacts further prove that the present energy sources are not viable in the long term for the growing population.

Lastly, some people may argue that the alternative sources are expensive presently and unreliable such as solar power and wind energy. However these, although they are expensive now, when thought of in the long term prove to be more cost effective and eco friendly then the traditional energy sources that we see today and with more research these alternative sources may be able to cater for the increasing demand for energy sources by the growing population.

In conclusion, the lasting adverse effects of these traditional energy options need to be supplanted by alternative sources to meet the increasing demand by the growing population.