Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

It is said that common ground and reasonable consensus should be more pursued by politicians rather than ideas that are difficult to reach. I agree with the argument to some extent.

Elusive ideals are those which are difficult to find. I can understand why some people believe that politicians should not focus on them. Most of the time obtaining such ideals can cost people’s lives. For example, we can see some politicians such as Hitler who endangered his people’s lives just because of his elusive ideals. Or the president of Iran Ahmadi Nejad who with his elusive ideals and aggressive attitudes towards the atomic right of Iran, portrayed Iran as a hostile zone. He changed the good view of countries towards Iran. Having elusive ideals can be good when they are in favor of people. For example, some leaders such as Gandhi had elusive ideals. His ideal was the freedom of India from the colony of England. He did not choose violence or the method that could hurt his people. He tried to gain his goal with altruistic methods. I believe that politicians should pursue their elusive ideals when they think they have this ability to develop and improve their society with such ideals. Each society for the achievement of success needs to have some leaders with elusive ideals.

However, I also believe that pursuing common ground and reasonable consensus should be the first priority of politicians. Each politician for gaining the trust of people should provide the needs and welfare of them. He should listen to his people’s requests and follows the reasonable ones. The elusive ideals should be considered alongside the common ground and reasonable consensus. when they are considered with each other, after a while they complement each other and then most of the time the elusive ideals become the people’s ideals. This also motivates people to try for them. For instance, we can consider the current conditions of Iran. The elusive ideal of Rouhani is having good relationships with superpower countries while the rights of Iran are respected. He always tries to use altruistic ways to reach this goal. Now his goal is also people’s goal, and with their union, they bear any difficulty in this way. This is because Rouhani tries to consider both sides, namely his people and his ideals.

To summarize, in my view politicians should equally pursue elusive ideals and common ground. In this way, they can keep balance in their country.