Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

An effective leader should not just have a sound moral judgment as a characteristic but also the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. Personally i believe that it is the respect we maintain among peers that should be given more importance. I feel this way for three reasons, which i will explore in the following essay.

First reason, without the respect of fellow peers, all decisions be it morally sound, just and prudent will always be treated as a bad one. This is because it is a natural tendency for humans not to deliberate decisions made by people whom they despise and have little or no respect. For instance, in the early 2010's election held in India, a political party's prime candidate was ridiculed for every decision made as most peers didn't have the veneration towards him.

Second reason, administrations fall as peers would deliberately not follow instructions given by the leader since they have very little respect for the leader. Peers would be remiss of their obligations towards the leader as they do not have innate feeling of respect and responsibility towards the leader who is trying to manage the organisation. For example, a school in Oman was rated the most poorly administered education centre in the country mainly because most employees felt the principal was arrogant and irrational subsequently having no respect for him which later led to the apparent rating.

Third reason, moral judgment should be diplomatically used in organisations so that leaders can effectively administer with the help of their peers. For instance, the prime minister of India started a initiative of cleaning the entire country with the help of the people by making moral judgments in diplomatic way by posting necessary ads in various parts of the country.

In Conclusion, I am of the opinion that respect among peers is a more important characteristic for an effective leader.