Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

We now live in a world where communication has become much easier than it was before when there was no smartphones and no internets. With the arrival of smartphones the entire definition of technological advancement has changed and now smartphones are integral part of our lives. As there are both bad and good effects of every invention, similarly smartphones do have their drawbacks, and should not be used before reaching a certain age. So, young children should not be allowed to use smartphones before reaching that age when they would be able to understand the bad sides of smartphone and would be able to keep themselves safe from those.

In order to have a proper growth a child should mix with other children, play in the field, and go to school to acquire knowledge. Allowing smartphones inhibits the growth of a child because using them makes a child isolate from other children. There are thousands of mobile games which attract the children, for instance, as they are very fun to play. Playing them means children are not playing in the field which is very essential to the physical growth. Moreover, the mental growths of the children are also frustrated because playing mobile games do not help them to make friendship with other children, and those friendship of early childhood are essential for the healthy mental growth of a child. So, using smartphones at an early age hampers the growth of a child.

Besides, obstructing growth smartphones have many adult things which are not suitable for a child, and hence children should not be allowed to get their access to smartphones before reaching adulthood. For example, youtube has many educational videos which are helpful for children. But those videos can lead a child to adult videos as those videos are very attracting and exist everywhere in the internet. Having an access to those videos will attack a child mentally as well as physically so it is better not to provide children access to smartphones until they reach adulthood.

Finally, smartphones blocks communication between people. As we are getting more dependent on smartphone, we used to waste our time by using them and do not give our concentration to the people besides us. Children are the most sufferer as no communication with other people blocks their ability to speak and there are many cases where it has been found out that children are not able to speak properly as they were allowed to use smartphones at their early age.