Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the Incoming, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. complaints received from viewers were originally with our station's coverage of weather and local news. The program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The argument is not cogent for some unwarranted assumptions it makes. Primarily, the arguments assumes that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will attract local businesses to make advertising contract with the station without analyzing the business condition of that area , and hence not valid.

The argument is based on the fact that local businesses will again start advertising if the schedule is changed but it may happen that the local business is not doing well. There may be a recessive going on and most of the business company are struggling to make Had the argument analyzed the business condition of that area and ensured that no recession is going on and the business firms are eager to invest money for advertising only then we can conclude That restoring previous schedule may attract them.

However, even then the argument has to explicitly show that the business firms are eager to invest money in a late night TV news program where number of viewers is not large and those firms have found an alternative source if advertisement by which they can reach vast majority Of the people which is necessary for their firm. The argument needs to analyze on this fact that no other alternative source of advertisement has not created and late night TV shows are enough to make advertisement for a company.

The argument says that the TV channel is getting some complain about late night TV news program. However, it may happen that complains are coming from only a particular source of people who are negligent compared to the vast majority of people who like to know about the National news rather than local news. Before taking further decision it must be made cleared that how many viewers are complaining, if it appears that the majority of the people like the program and only few do not and complains are coming from those small majority of people Then there is no point in changing TV news schedule.

However, there is a possibility that the area in which the TV station is telecasting has a changed working schedule for the workers and requires workers to attend in the office early in the morning. If such thing happens then restoring TV program schedule is not going to Attract the people as they need to sleep early and rise early. There is also a possibility that a local print media has started a section in which weather forecasting for the upcoming days are made with precision and has a large section for the local news which virtually The popularity of that print media may attract the TV news program viewers and it is convenient for people to read newspaper than viewing late night TV news program.

The argument has numerous gaps in its assumptions and those gaps must be filled with proper analysis and only then the argument will be cogent enough, otherwise it is not acceptable.