Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

While some people believe giving money to beggars on the street is wrong, there are others who think that its the right thing to do. Personally, I believe that its wrong to give money to beggars. I feel this way for three reasons, which i will explore in the following essay.

First reason, the very nature of a beggar is to have lost all hope in life and who is unable sustain themselves in this world. Keeping this as a premise, it doesn't make sense to provide money to them as they wouldn't be able to spend it wisely. For instance there have been many cases of beggars dying due to drug overdose this mainly attributes to the money obtained from begging which they later used to procure illegal drugs.

Second reason, it is established that beggars don't know how or where to spend the money it would be prudent of us to provide them with basic amenities like food, water, and shelter. This would help them temporarily to get back on their feet. For instance, we should join a non-profit solely focusing on providing food, water or shelter. This would further help society progress and also allow us to be more compassionate to the less fortunate.

Finally, there have been cases where people use begging as front for organised crime. By providing money to beggars, we may inadvertently be funding such crime syndicates. For example, there have been cases reported of police arresting beggars having large amounts of black money. This comes to show that our money should be given through secure and trusted sources.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is wrong to give beggars money. This is because they are not wise enough to know what to do with it, other means of helping should be considered and begging is often used as a front for organised crime.Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?