The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests for a greater share in advertising in upcoming budget in order to boost its viewership numbers despite witnessing an increased trend in good reviews.

The director seems to ourightly ignore the dimunitive and subtle factors that play a major role among the audience. Super Screen Movie Production initally produced romantic comedy genre which usually turned out average and mediocre in terms of budget,screenplay and the cast. Critics often hone in for the quality rather than the production area and the content. As a result, reviews during the formaitve years of company, used to be quite acerbic and harsh in tone which way irked the sales and the image of the company. But in contrast, the genre so made was a hit among the public, since people liked the genre and was apt for the trend that exisitng.

As days passed by , the Super Screen realising its poor performane in various departmental aspects of movie making, slowly picked it up to make decent and entertaining movies in the same category of the films. This move by the company was a blunder and the biggest fallacy as the production firm failed to undertand the mood and momentum of the audience. Gone were the days, audience paying heed to the romantic genres. Action thrillers paved their way deeply into the hearts of the people and thus proved to be a sensational form of entertainment. Such a mood was aptly captured by the Your Screen Cinema Production which went on to give several blockbusters even critics constantly applauding them for the fantastic work. Consequently, Super Scrren lost its charm due to its obdurate decions and staid attiude. Though the production quality was improved and critics apparaising for it, audience never made their way in for the screening.

However , such a shortfall of Super Scrren might seem temporary as you never know the mood among the audience. If people get bored and sense a repetitive back to back screenings of the genre are noticed, well audience may turn back their heads towards Super Screen for better movies and improved quality.

Thus, the director seems to be myopic and baseless in his decison. Blinkered focus on advertising itself to boost the viewership number, will be unyielding and subtle factors such as the mood, tolerance and recent trends among the audience must be taken care while taking such key decisions during the annual budget.