'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument given, provides a memorandum from the business manager of the television station which states that a late night news program altered the show by devoting increased time to national news by cutting off local and weather news time. This is not received well by their viewers and hence, this plan is reverted to its original one. While the argument states convincing facts, there are certain things that are left uncertain like, the number of new viewers and the increase in viewership after the increased time for national news, the revenue they are receiving from national advertisers, whether the complaints received are from local viewers or national viewers.

The argument does not mention the increase or decrease of the number of viewers, which can be significant to evaluate it as if the number of viewers increased in the past year then the channel's viewership increases which is auspicious for them. Hence, in this case, the manager's decision to revert to their previous schedule will be a wrong one.

The argument states that the local advertisers are canceling their advertising contracts but it is not mentioned if they made any new contracts with the national businesses. If they made contracts with the national businesses for advertising then they would receive more revenue than with the local businesses. Hence, this is vital in evaluating the argument.

The argument also states that the television station received complaints from the viewers but it is not certain if the viewers are the local ones or the national ones. If the number of national viewers increased and there are more new viewers then the television station will be more popular than before. Hence, the manager's plan to revert to their original schedule will be an ineffective one in this case too.

Hence, the above stated evidences need to be elucidated for the evaluation of the argument.