It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

I completely agree with the given idea. Students should be more inclined towards ideas and concepts instead of facts. This might help them to have empirical view towards any phenomena instead of just blindly following it.

Facts just represent unpractical results. They sometime tend students to just believe in some result without specifying any exact cause or any underlying principal which leads to such consequences. While on the other hand, concept and ideas might help a student achieve the result presented by the given fact instead of being perplexed between whether to assume the fact as it is or have a practical view towards it.

Let us consider an example related to science. Students blindly believing that gravity exists would be of no use for them until they actually understand what the given term exactly means. This might sometimes, just be represented in the form of fact in front of students instead of explaining the cause and effects of the same. While having a conceptual view of gravity might help any given student to actually distinguish between why the phenomena occurs and what effect does it really have.

Facts, sometimes, prove false when applied to the same experiment but with different perspective. Students might just be brusquely be led to ignore the results in such cases and prove the given experiment to be false. Instead, teaching or understanding what exactly does the given thing work or how are the concepts and ideas for the given thing been laid down, might in fact, let him to some meaningful consequences.

At last I would just like to conclude by saying that concepts and ideas help students to bolster their initial knowledge instead of just assuming something. Understanding anything from cause and effects might help to prove success at later times when he actually implements those things. This might not be only limited to courses or subjects that the student studies in his career. In fact, it might be applied to everyday things that he comes across in his daily life. Understanding each and every thing from a broader point of view might help to produce a successful student instead of the one who just needs facts to support his opinions.