The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station:

Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument seems to be a little obscured with respect to the memorandum that it tries to present. It tries to mention a problem with no related evidence reports, numbers or percentages bolstering it. Also, the solution offered is on some arbitrary ground instead of having any insights or validation for the same.

The first sentence mentions that the television station has increased its time to national news, but fails to mention any numbers or percentages as it tries to compare it with previous years. The next line mentions that it has received complaints for increasing its time towards national news and decreasing coverage of weather and local news. This is somewhat obscured and fails to mention the number of viewers who watch television at night versus the number of reviews it received. There might be high possibility that as compared to reviews received, the number of viewers are much more less. Hence, more insight is required to evaluate that a majority of viewers are complaining the same issue as faced by others.

The memorandum reveal that local businesses have canceled their contracts with station. This might be due to some other stations offering such businesses at a much lower rate as compared to the current one. Hence, associating it with the negative reviews or late night programs would be completely unethical.

Although, there might be some chances that viewers at night are typically interested in local news and weather reports at night, which might support the manager's main cause. But completely being dependent on such factors for the success of your business might be irrelevant and some more information regarding the same such as surveys, reviews, reports, etc. might be required.

The last sentence states that restoring the time to weather and local news might increase their customers and contractors. Such an evaluation might not only hamper success but would lead to further decline of business. As there might be possibility that old viewers have probably stopped watching late night news program, which might be an important insight for the television station to further decide its way to success. Also, apart from news, other factors such as advertising, quality, etc. might be some of the factors contributing to decline in business, which must be inspected accordingly before any decision is made.

Hence, the above argument seems to be unclear with respect to the information it presents and completely vague with respect to the decision it takes for a successful future. Some more insight are required for the decision to be validated as true.